FaceBook Link

Happy Birthday!!

Dear Legion Family Members and Friends,
The American Legion turns 94 today, March15.  It was on this date in 1919 when the first American Legion caucus was convened in Paris, coordinated by members of the American Expeditionary Force. Weary from war and its effects, they were concerned about their lives after discharge, the welfare of their comrades and the general condition of our nation. Such concerns gave rise to a value system, and The American Legion swiftly became the nation’s largest veterans service organization.
Today, with 2.4 million members, the Legion is as strong and relevant as ever.
The American Legion birthday is a time to celebrate. Cake and candles are OK, but this Legion birthday, I am asking for something more. I am asking you to share your American Legion story. Share it by speaking in your community and engaging local media. Share it by posting news of your services on Facebook, Twitter and the Legiontown U.S.A. web platform.
Here are just some of the ways you can join me in this year’s birthday celebration:
  • Upload stories and photos about post activities, including birthday party celebrations, on the Legiontown U.S.A. site.
  • Customize a draft speech available on the Legion website and deliver it in a public setting. The birthday speech can be downloaded free as a PDF or Word document  by visiting www.legion.org/publications and scrolling down to the Public Relations section.
  • Tune in to The American Legion Amateur Radio Club (TALARC), which will operate N9L – November Niner Legion – as a special-event station to commemorate the Legion’s 94th birthday Friday and Saturday. In addition to operating SSB on 14.270 MHz +/- 5 KHz, central Indiana stations may contact N9L on 146.46 MHz Simplex, or worldwide via IRLP Node 4816, on Friday, March 15, between 10 a.m. EDT (1400 UTC) and 4 p.m. EDT (2000 UTC), and Saturday, March 16, between 9 a.m. EDT (1300 UTC) and 4 p.m. EDT (2000 UTC). N9L will also be available via IRLP Node 4816. A full-color N9L certificate confirming contacts will be sent on receipt of a 9-by-12 inch self-addressed stamped envelope to TALARC, The American Legion National Headquarters, 700 N. Pennsylvania Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204.
Thank you for all you do every day – for veterans, their families and the communities in which they live.
Happy birthday, American Legion!
For God and Country,
 
James E. Koutz
National Commander

 

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!